ICC T20 World Cup 2016 Schedule: India to play against Pak on March 19

ICC T20 World Cup 2016 Schedule

Here it comes, the official ICC T20 World Cup 2016 Schedule, the announcement for which millions of cricket fans were waiting for. Well, it is something exciting and horrific altogether because India will be facing the ‘Brutal Competition’ in the 6th edition of T20 World Cup. ICC altogether announced Women’s World Cup schedule also. Thus a total of 58 men’s and women’s matches to be venued at 8 venues from 8 March to 3 April. Kolkata’s Eden Park is going to host ‘The Grand Finale’ while Mumbai and New Delhi to stage semi-finals.

The Venues are Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Chennai, Bengalaru, Dharamshala, Kolkata, and Mohali. The women’s semi-finals and final will be followed by the men’s knock-out matches. There is a spare day for the finals so it is something the two best teams will be relaxed about. The men’s event will carry a total prize money of $5.6 M, which got 86% hike from the 2014 tournament, while the total prize money for the women’s event is $4L, which is a 122% increase from the Bangladesh event.

ICC T20 World Cup 2016 Schedule
icc t20 world cup 2016 scheduleEngland women’s team won the inaugural tournament at home in 2009 before Australia won 3 consecutive straight titles in 2010, 2012 and 2014, respectively. In Men’s format, eight sides in two groups of four, will feature in the first round matches with the group winners joining eight sides in the Super 10 stage (two groups of five teams). The top two sides from both the Super 10 Groups will then qualify for the semi-finals. In the women’s event, the 10 sides will be divided into two groups and the top two sides from each group will progress to the semi-finals.

The tail-ending teams will have to play in two groups and one from each group winners will join India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Australia, England, and West Indies in the Super 10 stage, which will be played alongside the women’s event from 15-28 March.

Following Ind-NZ match, India to play its ‘Toughest Match of Pressure’ against Pakistan on March 19, while Ind-Aus will play on 27 March.

ICC T20 World Cup 2016 Schedule

ICC Chairman Mr Shashank Manohar said:

“India is a country where cricket is a religion & passion. I am fully confident that the BCCI will deliver an awesome world cricket event, just like the ICC Cricket World Cups in 1987, 1996 and 2011.”


1st round (group winners to progress to second round)

Group A – Netherlands, Ireland, Bangladesh,  and Oman
Group B – Scotland, Hong Kong, Zimbabwe,  and Afghanistan

2nd round groups:

Super 10 Group 1 – West Indies, England, Sri Lanka, South Africa, and winner group B (Q1B)
Super 10 Group 2 –Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand,  India,  and winner group A (Q1A)


Group A – Australia (A1), South Africa (A2), New Zealand (A3), Sri Lanka (A4) and Ireland (A5)

Group B – England (B1), West Indies (B2), India (B3), Pakistan (B4) and Bangladesh (B5)

See the Schedule of ICC T20 WorldCup 2016

Article publié pour la première fois le 11/12/2015


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *